Believe in Yourself

As a coach I have been told often by my mentors and fellow coaches that it is transformational to get clients to write for 3 hours straight about what their ideal life will look like… I have never done this myself until now- and I have to say my intension was to write about my ideal life but what I wrote about was where I currently am in life.

I guess the reason I wanted to do this exercise was to gain some clarity as to a bunch of hectic things running through my head and so it all just poured out.

Answers withinI find myself at a place where I am so eager to go so much further and at the same time it seems I am exactly where I was when I returned from my gap year in early 2010. I know the path I need to take to get to where I want to go… Yet I’m seem stuck.

“There’s a difference between knowing the path and walking the path” –Morpheus, The Matrix

It seemed the answer to all my questions was the “why” of my life.

“My purpose for my life is to share and help so that I can create a world of free minds and ecology by connecting, writing and creating.”

That is the purpose I began my ‘new’ life with in 2009. Yet somewhere along the line I’ve been pinching off my purpose. I haven’t been sharing and helping the way I most want to. I haven’t begun the creation of a world of free minds and ecology. I’ve connected and created less than I’ve ever wanted to and it is only recently that I’ve began writing again.

Now raises the question of why, when I know what I should do to live my purpose, haven’t I taken those steps???

Is there something I fear?

The poem comes to mind,

“Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our greatest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.” –Marianne Williamson

Do I fear my own potential?

I think a little bit, I do.

“With great power comes great responsibility” –Spiderman

I fear- no, I doubt, my ability to handle the responsibilities, to step up and face the music all on my own. Yes. In truth it is a journey everyone takes alone. Friends and family are near and far for support and guidance but the path is walked by you alone.

I know it is a path, a journey, worth every hurdle and every joy yet knowing is still not the same as walking. I doubt if I can BE that person… Or rather I doubt that, once I am being who I should be, that I can maintain and continue to be who it is that I most want to be.

Wow! (My light bulb moment) I doubt if I can always be who I want to be! What a silly thing to doubt. I will not always be that ideal me- the ideal me will always be change as I change and in its entirety I will always be growing and evolving.

Then I found I have this belief that successful people are alone and miserable… Think I adopted my dad’s belief… that successful people have become so by ill means and can never find happiness in their success.

BelieveAfter writing for my 3 hours- I realised that first and foremost I need to forgive myself for taking so long to get to a place that seems like nowhere. I should accept that I haven’t been able to be who I most need to, most want to- and stop my internal “crapping on myself.” Beating myself up over not being who I want to be is in no way going to motivate me to lift myself higher.

“I love myself to the extent that I choose to be the person that is capable of making my dreams come true.” That is what my internal dialog should sound like.

I have been waiting for the day that I will be the person capable of making my dreams come true- truth is I already am that person, I simply need to believe it. I choose to believe it.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heena Writes
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 04:55:04

    Wow!!! A breakthrough indeed. Hey, you know even a coach needs a coach… and right on the mark, you can’t beat yourself up about it – that accomplishes nothing. Learn from it and take action. Lessons for us all to learn from this blog post. It also makes a huge difference when others around you are holding you in the place where they feel comfortable for you to be. You excel faster when the people around you believe in you and hold you to that higher place!
    And Yes, believe in yourself and the world is your oyster with a majestic pearl!

    A significant part of the equation is that by you holding yourself back, not stepping up to be the person you so very much want to be, you are holding so many others back… Step up, live your life on purpose, believe in the person that is within trying to shine and let the world know… “hey, I’m here and I am magnificent” and soon you will not only be wishing your dream, but rather living your dream!!! And to think all it took was a little belief…

    Reply

    • Shil Rani
      Jun 07, 2011 @ 11:58:07

      Thanks!! So true… the people you keep company with effects the results you achieve and the person you are..

      Indeed. I think belief in yourself is the first step toward making any dream come true. Believe in yourself. Believe in your dream.

      Than you can live your dreams, not just your life!

      Reply

  2. Mental Xpress
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 11:52:27

    There’s a difference between knowing the path and walking the path – So true 🙂 Awesome post

    Reply

  3. potatosandwich
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 16:29:07

    Interesting thoughts – “Life” – my tilt on it is to do something that has a positive impact on other’s, whether they are less fortunate or high up in the sky but unware of what’s going on in the real world. We all have personal goals, are we here to study, work, take some responsibility and then walk hand in hand with the grim reaper? What have we then achieved? or are we better to drive ourselves to better a seed, a patch of grass, a vast land, or the landscape so that others can benefit.

    Nice post 🙂

    Some links from my blog, which I hope you may enjoy reading…

    https://potatosandwich.wordpress.com/2011/03/03/sometimes-the-universe-will-conspire-against-you/

    https://potatosandwich.wordpress.com/2011/03/02/soul-style-of-ultimate-living/

    Reply

    • Shil Rani
      Jun 08, 2011 @ 08:22:34

      Thanks! I totally agree with your tilt on life- to create positive change in the lives of others- regardless of who they are. That is essentialy what my post was about. The dream is of massive positive change in the lives of many people. And to achieve such an outcome I found that I first needed to believe that I was completely capable of it. I knew I was. I just hadnt believed it until recent events.

      Thanks heaps for the suggested blog posts, 🙂 I will have a read of them!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

