Mother…

Yes, its clichéd but I’m going to ask it anyway-

“When was the last time you talked to your mum???”

MumNow, I see my mum everyday and we talk everyday, but today was different and the meaning to my question above isn’t what you may think it is…

Today was amazing and so insightful ‘cause there are things I’ve always known about my mum and things that I’ve learnt for the first time in the 21 years that I’ve known her. There are also so many things that my mum keeps to herself so that we (her daughters) don’t feel hurt or have grudges against each other…

Mum has 4 sisters and 2 brothers… Mum and her 1 brother were often beat up by her dad. Regardless of which brother or sister was at fault, only the two of them got beat up, and not because either of them were the oldest or youngest… that’s where my mums strength to cope with all that her life has brought her comes from… it is also why I have never seen my mum vulnerable or open…

Dad and his brothers were raised by domestic workers. And amazingly it wasn’t because his parents worked and didn’t have time for them, it was by unobligated choice. Dads dad never supported anything dad wanted to do. Even study…  that’s why dad lets my sisters and I pursue what we want to, even after we have changed our minds a couple of times.  His mother wasn’t one who showed her children much affection either… that’s why doesn’t really know how to show the affection I’m sure he feels.

These few things opened up a whole other discussion about children and parents… And wow, my mother is one amazingly wise woman! A topic for another blog! Lol..

The main point of this one was- When was the last time you talked to your mum? Really talked to her and got to know more about the woman that she is apart from her identity as your mother…??

You might just learn that she is not just an amazing mum but also spectacular woman!

And wow am I grateful to have her…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heena Patel
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 23:16:30

    Wow!!! I absolutely agree… our parents and grand parents have sooo much wisdom to share and in their own right – other then being our parents – are such beautiful and amazing individuals! We put them in a box and can’t or don’t take the time to see their true authentic beauty without the boundaries of only being our parent…. they certainly are so much more then that!!!

    I love you Mum … I know you did the best that you could with what you had and I am grateful for who you are what you have done for me – I am who I am because of your beauty, wisdom and love! You are indeed a spectacular person and I am sooo grateful to have you in my life. I love you!

    I love you too Dad… in your screwed up way, you have given me many great values to live by and made me stronger and more resilient to life’s challenges. Love from you came in strange ways… which is often misinterpreted… and that is only because you yourself have not truly felt love of had love expressed to you and therefore don’t know how to express it to others!!!

    In actual fact we are here to teach each other valuable lessons that we need to experience in this life…

    Reply

  2. Didex
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 17:50:37

    I Love My Motheeeer…. \(^_^)>

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Tears can be Good? « Shil Rani's Blog !

Leave a Reply

