Mr. Bean Meets Don 2 ? !

Recently I watched Don 2- a Hindi movie about a very intelligent criminal that gets away with his crimes. Amazing how awesome it is to watch a movie in which the villain always gets away! Not too sure if it’s a very good source of modelling for the world and all our youth, but its good fun and there are actually some really awesome ways of living that one can learn from it…

Don 2The opening scene- when Don (the criminal/villain) is in Thailand- wow! I cannot wait to go to that very same place he goes too, it is soo gorgeous!- and he is there to pick up his stuff (drugs).

His business ‘friends’ deceive him, betray him and want to kill him.

Now, nothing really new with this scene- the attitude however is just so – I can’t help it- fucking fantastic! Kind of like Mr. Bean in a past post!

Bruce Lee Bruce Lee said, “Be like water making its way through cracks. Do not be assertive, but adjust to the object, and you shall find a way round or through it. If nothing within you stays rigid, outward things will disclose themselves.

Empty your mind, be formless. Shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle and it becomes the bottle. You put it in a teapot it becomes the teapot. Now, water can flow or it can crash. Be water my friend.”

That is exactly what Don’s character portrays! His ‘friends’ have just deceived him, he is surrounded by a bunch of guys about to kill him and he is all cool, calm and in flow with it all. In fact when questioned what his last dying wish would be, he asks what the best Italian restaurant in the place is because he is feeling for pasta and a glass of wine after he is done killing off all of them…

Now most people would view him as being overly arrogant and excessively confident. Maybe he is. Yet ask any personal development guru- they will tell you that the best way to realise your goals would be to visualise it and speak of it as if it has already been achieved… to talk of it with faith. AND to have  an image of the end in mind- how will you know you have achieved your goal?

In the case of Don, he spoke of it all as if it was already done and dusted.

 In the words of Will Smith, “As soon as I decide, it’s already done; we just gotta wait for you’ll to see!”

Don also has his vision of his life saved- in this case he will know that he has achieved his goal when he is safe in a restaurant eating pasta and drinking wine…

attitude

His attitude throughout the movie is one of flow- whatever happens he flows with it. He is 100% present to the moment. No matter what happens he manages to keep his cool, think straight and take action in the moment and that saves his life and gets him closer toward his goals.

Now who knows with what intentions the movie makers made Don, but for me, I aspire to be just like the villain who always gets his way- always reaches his goal and lives the life he dreams! Just my goals, dreams and aspirations aren’t negative! Lol!

“Success is 99% Attitude and 1% Aptitude”

Live Your Dreams, Not Just Your Life!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yatin
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 04:05:12

    I usually don’t prefer movies that glorify antagonist. Dhoom is the exception one where I have admired one. I liked original Don, but the copycat didn’t attract me. May be mainly it’s because of the lead star. As the line in the move goes, 11 saalse shahrukhko acting ki taalash hai, shahrukh ke liye acting muskilhe nahi naamumkin hai.

    I find your narration of the movie more interesting than him. At least yours is original! Your word skills made the ordinary into an extra-ordinary.
    On a side note I checked your other blog on Money co-hosted by another Patel! That might become my regular stop. Not because I need some tips to manage one, but some real good guidance to save some. Yes don’t go by my last name, I am an exception to the case.

    Reply

    • Shil Rani
      Jan 23, 2012 @ 12:01:07

      Thanks! I quite enjoyed the original Don too and I also loved the twist that the new one brought… “11 saalse shahrukhko acting ki taalash hai, shahrukh ke liye acting muskilhe nahi naamumkin hai.” -LMAO! I’m not a die-hard fan of ShahRukh, I don’t mind him too much either… I think that maybe I have gotten to the space where its more the roles that are being played and the perspectives been portrayed that are of a higher interest to me when watching a movie…

      Im flattered! (‘I find your narration of the movie more interesting than him’)

      Lol.. That Patel is my sister! She has a few blogs- which one have you visited? Enjoy it! I’m sure you will find it valuable! Lol.. maybe you can start to move on to the other side and not be the exception! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

